Spirit Awards 2018: Winners

March 4, 2018



We have awards that honor top name Artist, Actors, and Musicians alike, but what about those little guys? On March 3, 2018, the 33rd Film Independent Spirit Awards took place. The Spirit Awards, founded in 1984, are the primary fundraiser for Film Independent’s year-round programs, which cultivate the careers of emerging filmmakers and promote diversity in the industry. Film Independent Members vote to determine the winners at the Spirit Awards. This year's event was co-hosted by Nick Kroll & John Mulaney with Ava Duvernay acting as this years Spirit Awards Honorary Chair.


See the complete list of winners below:

The John Cassavetes Award 
(Given to the best feature made for under $500,000)
 Antonio Méndez Esparza, Life and nothing more (winner)
 Ana Asensio, Most Beautiful Island   
 Michael O’Shea, The Transfiguration   
 David Lowery, A Ghost Story
 Amman Abbasi, Dayveon
The Bonnie Award 
(The inaugural award recognizes mid-career women directors with a body of work that demonstrates uniqueness of vision and a groundbreaking approach to film-making. The award includes a $50,000 unrestricted grant funded by American Airlines.)
Chloe Zhao “The Rider” (winner)
So Yong Kim
Lynn Shelton
The Robert Altman Award
(Given to one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast)
Dees Rees, “Mudbound” (winner)


The Best International Film 
(Award given to the director)
 Robin Campillo, BPM (Beats Per Minute)  
Sebastián Lelio, A Fantastic Woman (winner)
Rungano Nyoni, I Am Not a Witch   
William Oldroyd, Lady Macbeth 
Andrey Zvyagintsev, Loveless
Best First Screenplay
 Kyle Espeleta & Jesse Wakeman, Donald Cried
Emily V. Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani, The Big Sick (winner)   
Ingrid Jungermann, Women Who Kill
Kogonada, Columbus 
David Branson Smith & Matt Spicer, Ingrid Goes West
Best Screenplay
Greta Gerwig “The Lady Bird” (winner)
Azazel Jacobs, The Lovers
Martin McDonagh, Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri 
Jordan Peele, Get Out
Mike White, Beatriz at Dinner
Best Documentary

(Award given to the director and producer.)
 Lana Wilson, The Departure  
 Agnés Varda & JR, Faces Places (winner)
 Feras Fayyad, Last Men in Aleppo
 Ramona S. Diaz, Motherland
Jonathan Olshefski, Quest
Best Male Lead
Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name (winner)
Harris Dickinson, Beach Rats
James Franco, The Disaster Artist
Daniel Kaluuya, Get Out
Robert Pattinson, Good Time    
Best Supporting Male Lead
Nnamdi Asomugha,Crown Heights 
Armie Hammer, Call Me by Your Name
Barry Keoghan, The Killing of a Sacred Deer
Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri (winner)
Benny Safdie, Good Time
Best Female Lead
Salma Hayek Pinault, Beatriz at Dinner
Frances McDormand, Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri (winner)
Margot Robbie, I, Tonya
Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird
Shinobu Terajima, Oh Lucy!           
Regina Williams, Life and nothing more
Best Supporting Female Lead
 Holly Hunter, The Big Sick
Allison Janney, I, Tonya (winner)
Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird
Lois Smith, Marjorie Prime
Taliah Lennice Webster, Good Time
Best Movie
Jordan Peele, “Get Out” (winner)

Jeep Truer Than Fiction Award
The 23rd annual Truer Than Fiction Award, funded by the Jeep brand, is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by the Jeep brand.
Shevaun Mizrahi, Distant Constellation
Jonathan Olshefski,  Quest (winner)
Jeff Unay, The Cage Fighter
Kiehl’s Someone To Watch Award
The 24th annual Someone to Watch Award, funded by Kiehl’s Since 1851, recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Kiehl’s Since 1851.
Amman Abbasi, Dayveon 
Justin Chon, Gook (winner)
Kevin Phillips, Super Dark Times
Piaget Producers Award
The 21st annual Producers Award, funded by Piaget, honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.
Giulia Caruso & Ki Jin Kim
Ben LeClair
Summer Shelton (winner)

Please reload

Recent Posts

September 15, 2020

September 14, 2020

September 13, 2020

September 11, 2020

Please reload

2020 The Divah Filez

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram Basic Black