top of page

32nd Annual Independent Spirit Awards (Full List of Winners Inside)

As the 2017 Oscars draws nearer, it's time to recognize the best of the best in independent filmmaking. This years Independent Spirit Awards took place on Saturday, February 25th at it’s usual spot in Santa Monica California. This year’s event was hosted by comedians Nick Kroll and John Mulaney. 18 different categories were presented by the likes of Kate Beckinsale, Jessica Chastain, Taraji P. Henson and more. Check out the complete list of 2017 Independent Spirit Award winners below:

Best Feature


American HoneyChronic


Manchester by the Sea

Best Male Lead

Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea

David Harewood, Free in Deed

Viggo Mortensen, Captain Fantastic

Jesse Plemons, Other People

Tim Roth, Chronic

Best Female Lead

Isabelle Huppert, Elle

Annette Bening, 20th Century Women

Sasha Lane, American Honey

Ruth Negga, Loving

Natalie Portman, Jackie

Best Supporting Female:

Molly Shannon, Other People

Edwina Findley, Free in Deed

Paulina Garcia, Little Men

Lily Gladstone, Certain Women

Riley Keough, American Honey

Best Supporting Male:

Ben Foster, Hell or High Water

Ralph Fiennes, A Bigger Splash

Lucas Hedges, Manchester by the Sea

Shia LaBeouf, American Honey

Craig Robinson, Morris From America

Best Director

Barry Jenkins, Moonlight

Andrea Arnold, American Honey

Pablo Larrain, Jackie

Kelly Reichardt, Certain Women

Jeff Nichols, Loving

Best International Film

Toni Erdmann



My Golden Days

Under the Shadow

Best Screenplay


Manchester by the Sea

20th Century Women

Little Men

Hell or High Water

Best First Screenplay

The Witch

Other People


Jean of the Joneses


Best Cinematography


Free in Deed

The Childhood of a Leader

The Eyes of My Mother

American Honey

Best First Feature

The Witch

The Childhood of a Leader

The Fits

Other People

Swiss Army Man

Best Documentary

O.J.: Made in America



I Am Not Your Negro


Under the Sun

Piaget Producers Award

Jordana Mollick

Melody C. Roscher

Craig Shilowich

Lisa Kjerulff

Robert Altman Award (Best Ensemble)


John Cassavetes Award (Best Feature Under $500,000)

Spa Night

Free in Deed

Hunter Gatherer



Recent Posts
bottom of page