top of page

Spirit Awards 2018: Winners

We have awards that honor top name Artist, Actors, and Musicians alike, but what about those little guys? On March 3, 2018, the 33rd Film Independent Spirit Awards took place. The Spirit Awards, founded in 1984, are the primary fundraiser for Film Independent’s year-round programs, which cultivate the careers of emerging filmmakers and promote diversity in the industry. Film Independent Members vote to determine the winners at the Spirit Awards. This year's event was co-hosted by Nick Kroll & John Mulaney with Ava Duvernay acting as this years Spirit Awards Honorary Chair.

See the complete list of winners below:

The John Cassavetes Award (Given to the best feature made for under $500,000) Antonio Méndez Esparza, Life and nothing more (winner) Ana Asensio, Most Beautiful Island Michael O’Shea, The Transfiguration David Lowery, A Ghost Story Amman Abbasi, Dayveon The Bonnie Award (The inaugural award recognizes mid-career women directors with a body of work that demonstrates uniqueness of vision and a groundbreaking approach to film-making. The award includes a $50,000 unrestricted grant funded by American Airlines.) Chloe Zhao “The Rider” (winner) So Yong Kim Lynn Shelton The Robert Altman Award (Given to one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast) Dees Rees, “Mudbound” (winner)

The Best International Film (Award given to the director) Robin Campillo, BPM (Beats Per Minute) Sebastián Lelio, A Fantastic Woman (winner) Rungano Nyoni, I Am Not a Witch William Oldroyd, Lady Macbeth Andrey Zvyagintsev, Loveless Best First Screenplay Kyle Espeleta & Jesse Wakeman, Donald Cried Emily V. Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani, The Big Sick (winner) Ingrid Jungermann, Women Who Kill Kogonada, Columbus David Branson Smith & Matt Spicer, Ingrid Goes West Best Screenplay Greta Gerwig “The Lady Bird” (winner) Azazel Jacobs, The Lovers Martin McDonagh, Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri Jordan Peele, Get Out Mike White, Beatriz at Dinner Best Documentary (Award given to the director and producer.) Lana Wilson, The Departure Agnés Varda & JR, Faces Places (winner) Feras Fayyad, Last Men in Aleppo Ramona S. Diaz, Motherland Jonathan Olshefski, Quest Best Male Lead Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name (winner) Harris Dickinson, Beach Rats James Franco, The Disaster Artist Daniel Kaluuya, Get Out Robert Pattinson, Good Time Best Supporting Male Lead Nnamdi Asomugha,Crown Heights Armie Hammer, Call Me by Your Name Barry Keoghan, The Killing of a Sacred Deer Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri (winner) Benny Safdie, Good Time Best Female Lead Salma Hayek Pinault, Beatriz at Dinner Frances McDormand, Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri (winner) Margot Robbie, I, Tonya Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird Shinobu Terajima, Oh Lucy! Regina Williams, Life and nothing more Best Supporting Female Lead Holly Hunter, The Big Sick Allison Janney, I, Tonya (winner) Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird Lois Smith, Marjorie Prime Taliah Lennice Webster, Good Time Best Movie Jordan Peele, “Get Out” (winner)

Jeep Truer Than Fiction Award The 23rd annual Truer Than Fiction Award, funded by the Jeep brand, is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by the Jeep brand. Shevaun Mizrahi, Distant Constellation Jonathan Olshefski, Quest (winner) Jeff Unay, The Cage Fighter Kiehl’s Someone To Watch Award The 24th annual Someone to Watch Award, funded by Kiehl’s Since 1851, recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Kiehl’s Since 1851. Amman Abbasi, Dayveon Justin Chon, Gook (winner) Kevin Phillips, Super Dark Times Piaget Producers Award The 21st annual Producers Award, funded by Piaget, honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget. Giulia Caruso & Ki Jin Kim Ben LeClair Summer Shelton (winner)


Recent Posts
bottom of page